House sit: Calgary (Flannel)

We left Calgary last August after an 8-year stay. We frequently met up with comments like “you’re back” as we met up with friends and attended appointments here, but as far as we are concerned, being in Calgary is just part of our nomadic life. For the first few weeks we were in town, we stayed with our son, daughter-in-law, and grandson, and for the last 3 1/2 weeks, we house- and pet-sat in a near-to-everything residential neighbourhood.

Our focus in Calgary included time with family (lots of grandson hugs!), checking in with a few friends, medical appointments, shopping to replenish worn summer clothes from the previous leg of our journey, repacking with warmer clothes for the next leg, and lots of bike riding.

The home

Our home was a cozy-but-spacious bungalow in a quiet, mature neighbourhood. We had lawns and gardens to tend to. For folks who haven’t had lawns to cut for 20 years, it was fun to do a couple of times a week (at least Ken said it was since he mowed the lawns with a human-powered mower every Monday and Friday while I was working!). We also haven’t had any gardens–even container gardens–to deal with for a couple of years, so tending to the garden beds and potted plants and watching them flourish was a treat, as was harvesting the rhubarb to cook up for breakfast, and bake into muffins and desserts.

P1010868P1010888P1010889

The pet

P1010876.jpg

Flannel is a shy, inside-only rescue cat, but she warmed up to us in a few days. Her little face greeted us through the front glass door whenever we came home. She asked for strokes frequently, demanded back rubs while rolling around on the bath mat before she hopped into the tub to drink from the purposely dripping faucet, and came downstairs to play each evening before she put herself to bed.

Next up

House- and pet-sitting on the beautiful Vancouver waterfront for a month. Stay tuned!

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “House sit: Calgary (Flannel)

Add yours

  1. Looks like things are going well with you. We have been under construction since we got home, redoing our bathroom completely, drywalling the kitchen and hallway and new flooring thru out the hall, kitchen and bathroom. Our contractor is really good, but really messy, so Gilbert has spend a lot of time vacuuming and dusting while I go to work. Can’t wait till it’s all done. In two weeks I go to Australia to visit my daughter and family and a new grandchild (expected on the 16th). She’s having a home birth so I hope it has arrived before I do. Nothing more stressful than watching your daughter deliver. Love reading your updates. Hope to talk with you again soon.

    Like

Please drop us a note!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑